SIG: Women in/of/and animation


Bella Honess Roe, University of Surrey

Caroline Ruddell, Brunel University


The women in/of/and animation SIG provides a forum for exploring women’s work in international independent and studio animation (as animators and in other roles) as well as examining the representation of women on screen in animation. Women have historically been marginalised in animation production and have often been represented on screen in problematically stereotypical ways. This SIG seeks to promote scholarship, research and practice that seeks to challenge and explore this, in the contemporary and historical context. The SIG’s membership is international and open to SAS members of all genders.


Pamela O’Brien, Notre Dame of Maryland University

Tanya Marriott, Massey University

Terry Wragg, Leeds Animation Workshop

Samantha Moore, University of Wolverhampton

Chunning (Maggie) Guo, Radboud University

Vanessa Cambier, University of Minnesota

Mihaela Mihailova, University of Michigan

Lauren Carr, Montclair State University

Kristin Dowell, Florida State University

Ginger Marisa Tontaveeetong, ASIFA South

Deborah Szapiro, University of Technology, Sydney

Romana Turina, Arts University Bournemouth

Aylish Wood, University of Kent

Grace Ting, Waseda University Japan

Becka Barker, NSCAD University

Sarah Ann Kennedy, University of Central Lancashire

Susan Young, Royal College of Art

Martine Barnaby, SUNY Cortland

Alison Loader, Concordia

Ruth Richards, RMIT Melbourne

Becky James, The New School

Laura-Beth Cowley, University of West England

Cassie Soliday, Wild Canary Animation

Belinda Oldford

Jemma Gilboy, Nottingham Trent University

Sandra Eber, Concordia

Alessia Cecchet, University of California, Santa Cruz

Amy Ratelle

Nichola Dobson, Edinburgh College of Art

Kate Corbin, SAE Liverpool

Martha Gorzycki, San Francisco State University

Timothy Jones, Robert Morris University

Lilly Husbands, Middlesex University

Naima Alam, Tuebingen University

Chris Pallant, Canterbury Christ Church University

Kara Lynn Anderson, Brooklyn College, CUNY

Marie-Josée Saint-Pierre. L’Université du Québec à Montréal

Robin Starbuck, Sarah Lawrence College

Susan Ohmer, University of Notre Dame

Josiane Keller

Eric Herhuth, Tulane University

Shira Avni, Concordia

Pierre Floquet, Bordeaux University, France

Sabrina Schmid, Teeside University

Leonie Sharrock, University of South Wales

Lorelie Pepi, Emily Carr University

Michael Fukushima, National Film Board of Canada

Catherine Lester, Birmingham University

Linda Simensky, PBS Kids

Janeann Dill, Emerson

Janet Blatter

Chrissy Guest, Ithaca College

Maria Lorenzo Hernández, Universidad Politécnica de Valencia (Spain)

Rebecca Stanton, Northumbria University

Sarah Brown, Northern Film School (UK)

Kayla Parker, University of Plymouth

Laryssa Prado, Universidad Federal de Juiz de Fora (Brazil)

Sabine Heller

Maliha Basak (Canterbury Christ Church Uni)

Ceiren Bell (Goldsmiths, London)

Fernanda Serradourada